New & Selected Poems, 1957 – 2011

new and selected poems robert sward 2011

New and Selected Poems: 1957 – 2011 is culled from Robert Sward’s newest and best works, including both previously unpublished poems and selections from his 20+ books of poetry. It is the definitive Sward collection, exhibiting throughout his signature style: outwardly zany and fanciful, but inwardly serious, troubled, and questioning. They cover the territory Sward has tread so well—love, divorce, multiple marriage, aging, loss, and the challenge of bringing up children in a highly unstable world.  
[Read more…]

Four Incarnations, New & Selected Poems

4 incarnations cover

“The startling, perfect lines, the twists, the playfulness, the magical use of speech rhythms and colloquial speech make Sward a writer I never tire of, always find delightful. His delight in what is always colored with what can be lost, a sense of what has been lost, adds to the poignancy, the caught moment or memory of a distant caught moment. I’m so glad he’s back with this delicious collection…”
-from reader Lyn Lifshin’s review on  
[Read more…]

Rosicrucian in the Basement

rosicrucian in the basement

“I like the wide sweep of it. There are many mysteries between father and son that people don’t talk about…. The father figure comes through consistently, there’s a lot of buoyancy, and the son is consistent and fine too.”
– Robert Bly, author of Iron John  
[Read more…]

Heavenly Sex

heavenly sex cover

“…fierce, new minted and convincing… he [Sward] has a voice and a range.”
-The New York Times Book Review  
[Read more…]


collected poems cover

“What I would really like to say about The Collected Poems of Robert Sward would not be a book review. I would like to say: Listen to this! …”
– from book review  
[Read more…]

God is in the Cracks

god is in the cracks narrative cover

“This book draws on Rosicrucian in the Basement and Heavenly Sex (Black Moss Press) and includes a dozen new poems in the father-son series. The poems here are sequenced to form a narrative spanning 60 years (1945 – present) and are best read in the order printed.”

— Robert Sward, from Author’s Notes  
[Read more…]